Law Office of Kimberly N. Shanklin, PLLC.
Serving Denton County Since 2002
ACTUALLYTHISTIME.png

Prostitution

Prostitution

Chapter 43 of the Texas Penal Code defines charges and punishments for offenses of public indecency.

“Prostitution” as per § 43.02 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person knowingly:

A)    offers or agrees to receive a fee from another to engage in sexual conduct, or

B)    offers or agrees to pay a fee to another person for the purpose of engaging in sexual conduct with that person or another.

An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class B misdemeanor, except that the offense is:

  • a Class A misdemeanor if the actor has previously been convicted one or two times of an offense under Subsection (a); or

  • a state jail felony if the actor has previously been convicted three or more times of an offense under Subsection (a).

An offense under Subsection (b) is a Class B misdemeanor, except that the offense is:

  • a Class A misdemeanor if the actor has previously been convicted one or two times of an offense under Subsection (b);

  • a state jail felony if the actor has previously been convicted three or more times of an offense under Subsection (b); or

  • a felony of the second degree if the person with whom the actor agrees to engage in sexual conduct is:

    • younger than 18 years of age, regardless of whether the actor knows the age of the person at the time of the offense;

    • represented to the actor as being younger than 18 years of age; or

    • believed by the actor to be younger than 18 years of age.

Severity of Crime

Misdemeanor A

  • Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year

  • Fine not to exceed $4,000

  • Both such fine and confinement

State Jail Felony

  • Confinement in a state jail for not more than two years and not less than 180 days

  • In addition to confinement, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000

Second Degree FelonY

  • Imprisonment in the institutional division for not more than 20 years or less than two years

  • In addition to imprisonment, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000