Silent or Abusive Calls to 9-1-1 Service
Chapter 42 of the Texas Penal Code defines disorderly conduct and other related charges.
“Silent or Abusive Calls to 9-1-1 Service”, as per § 42.061 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person makes a call to a 9-1-1 service, or requests 9-1-1 service using an electronic communications device, when there is not an emergency and knowingly or intentionally:
remains silent; or
makes abusive or harassing statements to a PSAP (Public Safety Answering Point) employee.
A person commits an offense if the person knowingly permits an electronic communications device, including a telephone, under the person's control to be used by another person in a manner described previously.
An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
Severity of Crime
Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days
Fine not to exceed $2,000
Both such fine and confinement