Chapter 29 of the Texas Penal Code defines robbery and aggravated robbery charges.
“Aggravated Robbery”, as per § 29.03 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person commits a robbery (as defined in § 29.02), and they:
causes serious bodily injury to another;
uses or exhibits a deadly weapon; or
causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is 65 years of age or older or a disabled person.
An offense under this section is a felony of the first degree.
Severity of Crime
First Degree Felony
Imprisonment in the institutional division for life, or
Imprisonment in the institutional division for not more than 99 years or less than five years with the exception of aggravated sexual assault, which adds a 25-year minimum punishment if the victim is younger than 6, or younger than 14 and the offense contained threats of serious bodily injury or death, or use of a deadly weapon
In addition to imprisonment, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000