Law Office of Kimberly N. Shanklin, PLLC.
Serving Denton County Since 2002
ACTUALLYTHISTIME.png

Sale or Purchase of Child

Sale or Purchase of Child

Chapter 25 of the Texas Penal Code places restrictions and guidelines on offenses dealing with the family.

“Sale or Purchase of Child”, as per § 25.08 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person:

  • possesses a child younger than 18 years of age or has the custody, conservatorship, or guardianship of a child younger than 18 years of age, whether or not he has actual possession of the child, and he offers to accept, agrees to accept, or accepts a thing of value for the delivery of the child to another or for the possession of the child by another for purposes of adoption;  or

  • offers to give, agrees to give, or gives a thing of value to another for acquiring or maintaining the possession of a child for the purpose of adoption.

An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree, except that the offense is a felony of the second degree if the actor commits the offense with intent to commit an offense under Section 20A.02, 43.02, 43.05, or 43.25.

Severity of Crime

Third Degree Felony

  • Imprisonment in the institutional division for not more than 10 years or less than two years

  • In addition to imprisonment, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000

Second Degree FelonY

  • Imprisonment in the institutional division for not more than 20 years or less than two years

  • In addition to imprisonment, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000