Leaving a Child in a Vehicle
Chapter 22 of the Texas Penal Code places restrictions and guidelines on the use of force by an individual acting outside of official State capacity.
“Leaving a Child in a Vehicle”, as per § 22.10 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person intentionally or knowingly leaves a child in a motor vehicle for longer than five minutes, knowing that the child is:
younger than seven years of age; and
not attended by an individual in the vehicle who is 14 years of age or older.
An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500. In the event that the child suffers injury or death, negligence or other charges may be brought against the actor separately.
Severity of Crime
Fine not to exceed $500