Chapter 21 of the Texas Penal Code sets restrictions and guidelines regarding sexually based offenses in the state of Texas.
“Bestiality”, as per § 21.09 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when a person knowingly:
Engages in an act involving contact between:
The person’s mouth, anus, or genitals and the anus or genitals of the animal
The person’s anus or genitals and the mouth of the animal.
fondles or touches the anus or genitals of an animal in a manner that is not a generally accepted and otherwise lawful animal husbandry or veterinary practice, including touching through clothing
causes an animal to contact the seminal fluid of the person
inserts any part of a person's body or any object into the anus or genitals of an animal in a manner that is not a generally accepted and otherwise lawful animal husbandry or veterinary practice
possesses, sells, transfers, purchases, or otherwise obtains an animal with the intent that the animal be used for conduct previously described
organizes, promotes, conducts, or participates as an observer of conduct previously described
causes a person to engage or aids a person in engaging in conduct previously described
permits conduct previously described
advertises, offers, or accepts the offer of an animal with the intent that the animal be used in this state for conduct previously described
Bestiality is a state jail felony and carries a punishment of confinement in a state jail for a period ranging from 180 days to 2 years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000. If the offense is committed in the presence of a child younger than the age of 18, it becomes a second degree felony and is punishable by a term of imprisonment ranging from 2-20 years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
Severity of Crime
State Jail Felony
Confinement in a state jail for not more than two years and not less than 180 days
In addition to confinement, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000
Second Degree FelonY
Imprisonment in the institutional division for not more than 20 years or less than two years
In addition to imprisonment, may receive a fine not to exceed $10,000